Sunday, November 13, 2011

PRM to challenge PKR in Balik Pulau, PJS, Selayang

PRM to challenge PKR in Balik Pulau, PJS, Selayang

Parti Rakyat Malaysia (PRM) has announced it would contest in three parliamentary seats currently held by PKR in the upcoming general election.

leftist role in independence forum 150911 rohana ariffin
In a statement issued today, PRM said its newly-elected president Dr Rohana Ariffin (left) had announced it would contest in Balik Pulau in Penang, and Selayang and Petaling Jaya Selatan in Selangor.

The three constituencies are represented by Yusmadi Yusof, William Leong and Hee Loy Sian, respectively.

Unless PRM can resolve the matter with PKR, therefore, there will be a three-corner fight between the two parties and BN in the next polls, which some expect to be held early next year.

It is understood that there is currently no deal between PRM and PKR. The latter is expected to issue a statement when its political bureau meets on Wednesday evening.

PRM was said to have merged with PKR precursor Parti Keadilan Nasional in 2003 after protracted discussions between leaders of the two parties.

prm congress meeting 160706 hassan abdul karim
A faction within PRM, however, claims a significant number of its members were against the merger, that it is still functioning as a political party, and is still recognised as a separate entity by the Registrar of Societies.

PKR leaders, however, including those formerly in the leadership of the leftist party founded in 1955 by independence fighter and one-time MP Ahmad Boestamam, have insisted PRM
no longer exists.

They point out that some of its leaders, such as former president Hassan Abdul Karim (
right) and secretary-general SK Song - who were among those who insisted on PRM’s continued existence - had even contested the 2004 general election under the PKR banner.

They had also attended the first merged congress of PKR in 2005 held in Ipoh and witnessed the democratic process of the election to elect committee members.

In the statement today, PRM also announced its new lineup following party elections held over the weekend at its headquarters in Petaling Jaya Selatan.

Beside Dr Rohana, the others elected to PRM's new leadership were Song (deputy president) and G Palaniandy, Tan Chin Hong, Koh Swee Yong as vice presidents.

Al Jafree Md Yusop was elected secretary general, and Mohd Yusuf Che Ya as treasurer.

Among those in attendance at the congress were PAS deputy president Mohammad Sabu, Kita's Nibong Tebal MP Tan Tee Beng, PKR's Kelana Jaya MP Loh Gwo Burne and ex-PKR youth leader Badrul Hisham Shaharin. - Malaysiakini, 14/11/2011, PRM to challenge PKR in Balik Pulau, PJS, Selayang

No comments: